Permissions

There are two types of permissions that you can modify – CMS Permissions and Role Permissions.

CMS Permissions

CMS Permissions control which CMS screens each role has access to. 

To modify CMS Permissions:

  1. Navigate to the CMS Permissions screen, by clicking the User Interface link found under the Settings tab in the CMS menu.
  2. Select the Role to modify.
  3. Check the checkboxes to allow the role access to that screen.
  4. Uncheck the checkboxes to prevent the role from accessing that screen.
  5. Click Save when you're done.

Role Permissions

Role Permissions control how a user can interact with pages within the website using the CMS.

By default, Administrators and Moderators can view, save, publish, rollback and delete all pages and news articles whilst Maintainers and newly created roles can only view and save them.

The CMS is flexible however, and allows Administrators to change the role permission defaults and even set individual page and news article permissions.

Change a Role's Default Permissions

  1. Navigate to the Roles screen, by clicking the Roles link found under the Users tab in the CMS menu.
  2. Click on the name of the Role or its Edit Permissions button.
  3. Check or uncheck the checkboxes and click Save.

Exceptions

You can setup exceptions to the main CMS Permissions. This is useful if you only want to give a user access to certain areas of the site. For example, you may want a Maintainer role to only be able to access News pages to edit, but you don't mind them being able to view all pages.

Individual page and news article permissions are called "Exceptions" because they are exceptions to the default permissions.

Add an Exception

  1. Navigate to the Roles screen, by clicking the Roles link found under the Users tab in the CMS menu.
  2. Click on the name of the Role or its Edit Permissions button.
  3. Click on the Add New button in the Exceptions panel.
  4. Click on the Page or News Article you want to add as an exception and click the Insert button.
  5. Check or uncheck the checkboxes to modify the permissions (checked means allow).
  6. Click on Save when you're done.