Roles

Roles are a way of grouping users together to control their levels of access and permissions. By default, there are four roles that can be assigned to users – Super Administrator, Administrator, Moderator and Maintainer.

You can however, add as many roles as you need and set individual role permissions.

Default Roles

The following roles are setup in EdukaCMS by default. You can add additional roles and set the appropriate permissions through the User system.

Super Administrator

The Super Administrator is the licensor of the CMS and is usually the person who sets up the website. They have full control within the CMS and have additional access to EdukaCMS Tools, Settings and Appearance areas.  These areas are only applicable for developers and designers. 

Administrator

The Administrator has control within EdukaCMS to manage the permissions applied to other users within the CMS, make final reviews of pages and publish pages to go online.

Moderator

The Moderator makes the preliminary review of a page and publishes it. Alert Emails are sent to the moderator every time a maintainer submits a page for review. A moderator can edit the page if they wish.

Maintainer

The Maintainer makes the changes to the content. A maintainer cannot review or publish pages.

Roles can only be managed by Super Administrators and Administrators. They can add, delete and rename roles as well as maintain role permissions.

Add a New Role

  1. Navigate to the Users screen and click on the Roles tab in the sidebar.
  2. Type a name for the new role into the Role Name box in the Add Role panel on the top right of the screen.
  3. Click Add. This will add the new role to the list on the left.
  4. Locate the role you just created and click on the Edit Permissions button.

For information on setting up user permissions, see the Permissions section.

Rename a Role

  1. Navigate to the Roles screen, by clicking the Roles link found under the Users tab in the CMS menu.
  2. Click the Rename button next to the role you’d like to rename.
  3. Type the new name in the text box and Save.

Delete a Role

The Super Administrator and Administrator roles cannot be deleted however any other role can be deleted by a user with administrative privileges.

  1. Navigate to the Roles screen, by clicking the Roles link found under the Users tab in the CMS menu.
  2. Click the Delete button next to the role you’d like to delete.
  3. Click OK in the confirmation dialog.

You cannot delete roles that have users assigned to them; you must reassign the users first.